A dog bite is often about so much more than the dog.
There are laws about dangerous dogs in Georgia (Georgia code: O.C.G.A. § 4-8-21). Charges can be brought against dog owners. Dog owners can be fined up to $5000 with one year in prison for the first offense. Subsequent attacks can raise fines to $10,000 with up to ten years in prison.
There is no state-wide leash law in Georgia, but many cities and counties have their own more restrictive rules for dogs in public. Dog owners must comply with these leash laws. Law enforcement and animal control officers may immediately impound a dog if the officer believes the dog is a threat to public safety.
Injuries from a dog bite
In many cases you can recover for your damages against a dog’s owner. In addition to damages for medical bills, property damages and lost income, victims of dog bites can be compensated for future medical expenses like reconstructive surgery. Victims can also recover for pain, psychological problems, and other general damages as well.
We investigate dog bite claims to evaluate whether the dog’s owner is liable and whether a financial recovery can be obtained. If you have a viable case, we will pursue your claim to a successful resolution. A personal injury claim must be filed within two years of the dog bite.